"Our interest is a commitment to our involvement in a profession in which we choose to serve."

Awarded annually to an Eastern States Conference Preceptor for distinguished service to the profession and commitment to residency training, the Louis P. Jeffrey Award was created in 2004 by the Eastern States Conference Advisory Committee to honor the career achievements of Louis P. Jeffrey, the founder of the Eastern States Conference.  This year, the award will be presented on Monday, May 6, 2024.  The Louis P. Jeffrey Award recipient will be chosen from a group of nominees submitted to the Eastern States Advisory Committee. Past award winners will also participate in selecting the Award winner.


The late Dr. Louis P. Jeffrey dedicated his illustrious career in hospital pharmacy to the development of young talent and the perpetuation of the nobility of mentorship. Within 6 months after graduating from Massachusetts College of Pharmacy with a Master’s degree, he became Director of Pharmacy at Albany Medical Center. In the early 1960s, Dr. Jeffrey began one of the earliest residency training programs in the country and became the youngest president of the American Society of Hospital Pharmacy. He was also a pioneer in certified Pharmacy Technician training and was acknowledged with the Harvey A. K. Whitney Award in 1974 while he was Director of Pharmacy at Rhode Island Hospital. Dr. Jeffrey founded the Eastern States Conference for Pharmacy Residents and Preceptors in 1981. He ended his career in Pharmacy when he retired as President of Massachusetts College of Pharmacy in 1996. Lou will be remembered for his commanding leadership, his innovative practice development, his generosity, and his commitment to Pharmacy Residents and Preceptors.

Award Criteria:

To be eligible, candidates must:

  • Have practiced as Residency Program Director or Preceptor in Eastern States Conference (ESC) region for at least 5 years.
  • Demonstrated ongoing commitment to residency training excellence and advancement of the profession.
  • Maintained high moral character, good citizenship, and high professional ideals

Nominations should address specific contributions made to residency training and address at least 3 of the below criteria. 

  1. Exemplary practice in working with individual residents or cohorts as a preceptor, program director, or program advocate.
  2. Contribution to the advancement of pharmacy residencies at a local, state, or national level.
  3. Continued efforts to provide personal and professional development for clinical educators in pharmacy.
  4. Contribution to the advancement of pharmacy practice at the local, state, or national level.

Nomination Process:

The Eastern States Conference Chair will email a call for nominations to ESC program directors, preceptors, and current residents once they have registered for the conference.

Nominations should be submitted in writing to the ESC Advisory Committee.  The nomination should include:

  1. A nomination letter:
    • The nomination letter should include the nominee’s accomplishments and explanation of the nominee’s involvement in residency training. It should also include a complete statement about the nominee that includes reasons for the nomination.  All statements should be specific and should avoid use of phrases such as “their contributions are well known to all.”
  2. Current curriculum vitae (CV) of the nominee
  3. A personal statement by the nominee:
    • The personal statement should include a detailed summary of the nominee’s efforts to meet the award criteria and should act as a supplement to the nominee’s CV.
  4. Two or more letters of recommendation:
    • At least one letter of recommendation from current and/or past pharmacy resident
    • At least one letter of recommendation from a current and/or past colleague

Nominations for the Louis P. Jeffrey Award may be submitted via email to easternstatesconf@gmail.com, to the attention of Laura Hobbs, a member of the ESC  Advisory Board. 

The nomination deadline is April 8, 2024.

Recipient Selection:

Selection will be based on a panel of ESC Advisory Committee members and of past award winners.

In the event that consensus cannot be achieved through discussion, the Program Chair shall determine a procedure for determining the Award recipient by vote of the Advisory Committee Members similar to Whitney Award procedures.

ESC Advisory Committee may modify criteria at their discretion.



Previous Award Winners:

2023:  Dannielle Brown, PharmD, BCPS
The Johns Hopkins Hospital

2022:  Kristin Held Wheatley, PharmD, BCOP
Lehigh Valley Health Network

2021:  Jeffrey A. Reitz, PharmD, MPH, BCPS, BCOP
Christiana Care Health System

2019:  Kevin W. Chamberlin, PharmD, FASCP
University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy
UCONN Health

2018: Jackie Costantino, R.Ph, MBA
South County Hospital

2017: Paul Abourjaily, PharmD, BCPS
Tufts Medical Center

2016: Jeff Huntress, PharmD, BCPS
Highland  Hospital

2015: Leigh E. Efird, PharmD, MPH, BCPS
The Johns Hopkins Hospital

2014: Laura Hobbs, PharmD, BCPS
Hartford Hospital 

2013: Mark Sinnett, PharmD, FASHP
Montefiore Medical Center 

2012: Doris A. Fishman, MS, RPh
Express Scripts 

2011: Evelyn R. Hermes-Desantis, PharmD, BCPS
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital

2010: John Roefaro, PharmD
VA Boston Healthcare System 

2009: Claudine El-Beyrouty, PharmD, BCPS
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital 

2008: Michelle W. McCarthy, PharmD
University of Virginia Health System 

2007: William A. Gouveia, MS, DHL, FASHP
Tufts-New England Medical Center 

2006: Barbara T. Irby, MS
Massachusetts General Hospital 

2005: Gerald E. Meyer, PharmD, MBA
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital 

2004: Thomas E. O’Brien, PharmD, FASHP
University of Rochester Medical Center